View Full Version : IPAQ 3580 Bluetooth Internet problems - Help Plz.

robjess
08-09-2003, 08:16 AM
Hi Im a Newbie..

I have a Compaq Ipaq 3850. I have a CF Marvin Bluetooth card, which installed BlueSoeil software on my 3850.

On my PC I have a Billionton USB Bluetooth Dongle.

I can get the PC and the Ipaq to see each other fine. But I cant seem to browse the internet on my IPAQ.

My internet setup is, Windows XP, Broadband Cable Modem. The Cable modem is plugged into the same PC that the USB Bluetooth dongle is in. I have internet sharing turned on this PC (lets call it the server), as it is sharing the cable modem connection with 2 other PCs via a HUB.

All of the PC's are having their IP's assigned automatically. All PC's can share the internet connection fine, except for the IPAQ.

I assume I dont have the settings set up write on the IPAQ. Can someone help me out here please.. its been driving me mad all day..

Thanks in advance (I hope!)

Anthony Caruana
08-09-2003, 09:24 AM
Check out your ActiveSync settings. Under Tools | Options there is a Pass Through option. I thnk it needs to be set to Internet for you to be able to browse the Internet.

Check out www.geekzone.co.nz for the best source of bluetooth guides around!

surur
08-09-2003, 09:28 AM
Its not too complicated actually, but hopefully this solution wont screw up the rest of your network.

all explanations general, as I dont have your setup (mine is a loox and tecom dongle)

First you need to enable the LAN access service on your computer in the bluetooth service setup, and on your PPC in the same place.

Next you should enable ICS for that bluetooth network adaptor (use the ICS setup wizard).

Then connect, and bob should be your uncle.

Hope it works

Surur

robjess
08-09-2003, 09:30 AM
Huh? I dont have activesync set up on that PC. I synch with my other PC.

I thought the bluetooth capability meant I didnt need to use activesynch or any pass through..