View Full Version : The Cradle

Björn Edström
07-31-2003, 02:24 AM
Sorry if this is a real newbie question but I am new to PDAs so bear with me. :)

http://www.bargainpda.com/assets/1562.jpg

I will soon buy an ipaq, probably 1910 or 2210 (the 1940 is perfect on paper but the display is horrible!). My main concern right now is the cradle. What is it good for, do I need one? Can I connect the device to my computers without one?

Thanks.

darrylb
07-31-2003, 02:56 AM
A cradle is useful for any time you want to connect the device to the PC.

There are other ways of doing this of course, and personally I rarely use my one.

You will get one with the 2210, but the 1940 comes with a sync cable only(you probably already know this).

You need a hardware based connection to the PC for ROM upgrades, however, beyond this, you can do everything with BlueTooth or IR.

Hope this helps.

dequardo
07-31-2003, 03:24 AM
Have you looked at a 1940/45 or are you simply relaying others' comments?

hdsalinas
07-31-2003, 03:25 AM
If you get the 1940/1910, it will come with a sync cable.

As darrylb said, you will need this to sync your contact, emails, calendar, transfer files and for installing programs. If you have this cable, you probably don´t need the cradle since they both work the same but I would recomend you get one

What you could do if you want, is get the 1940 and later on get the cradle.

I would advice you to get the 2215. You will have a PPC that is very practical and expandable. (probably the best PPC ever)

hope you find it useful.

Pony99CA
07-31-2003, 05:10 AM
I will soon buy an ipaq, probably 1910 or 2210 (the 1940 is perfect on paper but the display is horrible!). My main concern right now is the cradle. What is it good for, do I need one? Can I connect the device to my computers without one?