View Full Version : TextMaker and 2003

hamishmacdonald
07-26-2003, 07:30 PM
I know SoftMaker released a service pack for TextMaker that makes it Windows Mobile 2003-compatible, and (as a paying customer), I downloaded it. But I found it was behaving strangely (while wrestling with trying to use my Stowaway XT on an iPAQ 2210). All the keyboard shortcuts were gone, and didn't seem to want to be replaced (since they're configurable). I also couldn't paste text into the 'Smart Text' macro field (a feature I use a lot to compensate for not being able to find a way to type em-dashes).

So I'm back to using Pocket Word. And, you know, it's comfy. It's light and simple, it follows the Pocket PC interface guidelines, and it does some things (like word count) in an easy way, where TextMaker has eight zillion menus, and feels very heavy. Why do I use TextMaker? Two features: 'smart' quotes and em-dashes. I'm a professional writer, and I can't send things to my client with hyphens and inch-marks where these should be.

Torn between two lovers...

Anyway, just wondering if anyone else was having issues with TextMaker. I should really write to the developer, but I don't have the time to get into documenting the issues and trying to reproduce them.

- Hamish MacDonald

SoftMaker
07-28-2003, 03:08 PM
I know SoftMaker released a service pack for TextMaker that makes it Windows Mobile 2003-compatible, and (as a paying customer), I downloaded it. But I found it was behaving strangely (while wrestling with trying to use my Stowaway XT on an iPAQ 2210). All the keyboard shortcuts were gone, and didn't seem to want to be replaced (since they're configurable). I also couldn't paste text into the 'Smart Text' macro field (a feature I use a lot to compensate for not being able to find a way to type em-dashes).