View Full Version : Scedule Avantgo?

Wiseblood
07-23-2003, 03:30 AM
Total newbie here . . . is there any SiMPLE way to have my iPAQ sync with Avantgo at 5:30 am so the news is ready for me when I crawl out of bed?

Jason Dunn
07-23-2003, 04:18 AM
Sure - put it in the cradle. :lol: AvantGo syncs when you put it in the cradle. If you want to leave it in the cradle overnight, you can just walk up and hit sync, and it will refresh the AvantGo content...but there's no magical way to have it go off at a certain time.

droppedd
07-23-2003, 05:18 AM
edit: oops. I had originally posted that there is a schedule feature in Active Sync... but now I realize: You can schedule syncing. But only for WIRELESS syncing, which seems kind of dumb.

Can't you just set ActiveSync to sync continuously rather than on connection or manually? Would that check AvantGo every so often for updates? hm.

Varrus
07-23-2003, 06:21 AM
I saw this posted somewhere else on this site, so I can't take credit for it. The best way I've heard of to accomplish this is to set an alarm to go off at 5:30, then put your Pocket PC in its cradle and turn it off. When it wakes up (okay, *IF* it wakes up) for the alarm, it will automatically connect to ActiveSync and synchronize everything, including AvantGo.

You'd think MS would be able to make a Personal Digial Assistant (that's what PDA stands for, right?) actually play all alarms that are set... at least my $10 watch does! :grumble:

Pony99CA
07-23-2003, 06:32 AM
is there any SiMPLE way to have my iPAQ sync with Avantgo at 5:30 am so the news is ready for me when I crawl out of bed?
I wonder if PowerStart (http://www.schmidt6.com/powerstart) could do this.

Steve

Wiseblood
07-24-2003, 02:34 AM