View Full Version : Is an Audible subscription worth it?

Crystal Eitle
07-19-2003, 01:50 AM
I keep getting offers from Audible.com in my inbox and they're starting to look pretty tempting. I notice that for $14.95 a month I can have one periodical subscription plus one audiobook per month. I'd like to hear from people who subscribe to Audible. Do you like using it? Do you feel like you're getting your money's worth? And what periodical would you recommend? (I'm thinking of getting This American Life, the New York Times, or Morning Edition).

I live close enough to work that I can walk if I like, but the half-hour walk gets boring (even listening to music). I could see myself walking a lot more often if I were listening to an audiobook. I've never done the audiobook thing before, though, so I do wonder if it's an enjoyable "reading" experience.

And also, to fit a subscription to Audible into my budget, I'd have to cancel my Rhapsody subscription....

Sunnyone
07-19-2003, 02:09 AM
I have a subscription. I find my listening habits go up and down. I listen a bunch or hardly at all. Once-in-a-while I've forgotten to choose and download my content for the month. :? When I subscribed (quite a while ago) you were allowed 2 selections of any kind and I've yet to choose a periodical. I find I use it most when exercising, commuting or when cleaning up around the house. The price for content is a lot more reasonable with a subscription than without, that's for sure! As for how I like listening to the content, I like it a lot.

Crystal Eitle
07-19-2003, 02:17 AM
or when cleaning up around the house.
Ooh, I didn't even think of that! This could make housework way more tolerable. I like to keep my mind busy all the time, but sometimes I get worn out listening to NPR 'cause it's too depressing. If I could listen to a novel or a book on history or science and get stuff done at the same time, that would be super-cool.

racerx
07-19-2003, 04:05 AM