View Full Version : Beginning to think I really don't need a pda...(Mostly from a student perspective)

kuyars
07-11-2003, 04:51 AM
Sorry if this post really goes nowhere, but if there's anywhere it may belong, it most definitely fits in the Just Chatting Forum :)

Here's my history: I started with a handspring visor about 4 years ago, and I really got into the whole scheduling thing with keeping track of assignment due dates (I'm a 3rd year college student), paying rent reminders, etc. Somewhere along the way, maybe just a year later, it just sort of fizzled out and the visor became a Dust Collector.

Since then I've gone through the Axim X5 and the Zaurus 5500 and each time I usually go into my 3 months of intense organization, and then gradually wane into not using the pda much at all.

Being a student, I am sometimes caught with lots of assignment due dates and tests that would require scheduling. But periods where I don't own a PDA (such as now), it really is no problem to dedicate the back of my notebook to scribble something down (a phone number, a due date, etc) and as soon as I go home, just enter the data into Outlook. It's really not as cumbersome as it may sound -- probably takes less than a minute really.

I used the search function on the forums for the term "student" to see how other students were using their pdas. A lot of posts extolled programs that kept track of their GPAs, class schedules, and yes, due dates. I dont know, but I'm really not that inclined to keep a constant eye on my GPA -- as long as I know I'm doing well enough :) And by the 3rd week of class, I have already internalized my class schedules. From my own experience, being a comp. engineering major, note-taking on a pda is nearly impossible, what with all the formulas, symbols, and charts that I have to deal with.