View Full Version : New 1940 ~ Alarms Will Not Work! - Please Help Before I Go Insane...

willh
07-10-2003, 03:36 PM
I've been using iPaq's for the past three years, and while I've heard of alarm issues, I've never experienced it.

Yesterday, I received my brand spanking new ipaq 1940 and proceeded to install PI 4.5, Calligrapher, eWallet, and ListPro. That's it.

When I make a calendar item with an alarm - the unit will not wake up to alert me! #$%#@!! This is the WHOLE POINT of HAVING THIS THING.

So - I spend an extra $10 and buy SuperAlerts... and still - NO ALARMS.

I'm about to jump ship over to Palm and just return this PocketPC. Of all the basic functions of a PDA - alerting the owner with an alarm is at the top of the list. If HP and M$ can't get this right - they don't deserve my $$$.

Sorry to go off on a rant here - but I had been waiting 2 years to upgrade from a 3630... which despite it's own list of problems - the alarms at least worked. Now - the new and improved 2003 OS comes out with a new hardware... and it doesn't work.

Please - anyone - can you help me out?

Jason Dunn
07-10-2003, 04:12 PM
Try this:

1) Hard reset the unit
2) Don't install anything
3) Using the built-in calendar program, create one appointment
4) Don't turn the power on the Pocket PC off, just let it turn off on it's own

If the alarm fires, it's possible there's some freaky sort of conflict with the software you installed. If the alarm doesn't fire, you have a defective Pocket PC.

mattchapin
07-10-2003, 07:47 PM
I'm having the same problem with my Toshiba E755 with Windows Mobile 2003.

I thought it was my toxic combination of PocketInformant and Today Screen plugins, but even after I do a hard reset, enter one appointment, and wait, it still sometimes (rarely) fails to wake up and sound the alarm!

-Matt

p.s. Yeah, I had an Ipaq 2215. Hyper-sensitive d-pad drove me crazy, so I traded it in for the E755. (I am enjoying the wi-fi!)

Chris Spera
07-10-2003, 08:14 PM