View Full Version : Configuration question

cab124
06-27-2003, 11:41 PM
OK...here is an interesting question....

Assume that you don't own and exansion cards, and you just bought a new iPaq 2215 that has both a CF slot and an SD slot.

You want to add memory and WiFi capability. Which configuration makes the most sense, and why?

1. SD - use for memory, CF - use for WiFi

2. SD - use for WiFi (when available), CF - use for memory

A few other questions:

1. Is it possible to have two PDA's synch to the same computer with ActiveSync?

2. Does it really make sense to spend the money for a BlueTooth adapter for synching to the desktop when it will be much slower than the using the cradle...especially when transfering media files?

3. Can BlueTooth be used to enable the 2215 to see the internet for web surfing, or is this better done with WiFi?

I am new to all this wireless stuff, so I appreciate any info!!! Thanks!

Enderet
06-27-2003, 11:53 PM
I say go with the 2nd option which is using SD for WiFi and CF for memory. I say this because CF memory is so much more chea[er and well... it looks like CF is taking off much more better than SD. You have these CF cards coming out with insance amounts of mem, which might or might not be a big thing for you(but its never bad too have a lot of mem).

The other 3 questions...I am clueless about :(

Pat Logsdon
06-27-2003, 11:56 PM
You want to add memory and WiFi capability. Which configuration makes the most sense, and why?

It'll be cheaper to go for option 1. CF format devices are cheaper than SD, and SD memory prices are dropping rather rapidly.

In my opinion, the (inevitable) high price of SDIO devices outweighs the low cost of CF memory.

Enderet
06-28-2003, 12:06 AM

It'll be cheaper to go for option 1. CF format devices are cheaper than SD, and SD memory prices are dropping rather rapidly.

In my opinion, the (inevitable) high price of SDIO devices outweighs the low cost of CF memory.