View Full Version : Pocket PC 2003

Shaun Stuart
05-16-2003, 08:17 PM
I was at my local PC World today (in the Uk) and was talking to the sales rep on the camera/PDA counter. He told me that he had seen the new Ipaq 2200 series and that it will ship with Pocket PC 2003. He did not have much hands on time with it but said that PPC 2003 was a big improvement on 2002.

According to him the upgrade will include a much improved media player with support for mpeg and avi files. Switching to Landscape will be possible but only for Notes, Word, Excel and Internet Explorer (he was not sure about MS Reader). Animated today screens were available as complete backgrounds (today data its on top of the animation rather than below or above in a section of the screen) Internet Explorer provided multiple screens and there were some minor updates to the calendar and contacts views.

Now I dont usually listen to Reps from PC World - I have had some real bad experiences dealing with them (I would never buy a PC from one) - but this guy seemed to be a bit of a Pocket Pc fan and appeared to know what he was talking about.

He told me that the new ipaqs would be available from the second week in June.

James Fee
05-16-2003, 08:34 PM
I was at my local PC World today (in the Uk) and was talking to the sales rep on the camera/PDA counter.
That should tell you all you need to know right there... :silly:

Reinaldo
05-16-2003, 08:34 PM
Well, Pocket Word as a landscape is better than no landscape at all. I like the Windows Media Player being able to play MPEG files because I don't like to format my videos using Windows Movie Maker everytime I want to have them on my iPAQ. Did he say anything about the iPAQ 2200 itself?

Shaun Stuart
05-16-2003, 08:52 PM
Did he say anything about the iPAQ 2200 itself?

The only thing he said was that it looked much better than the toshiba e750 (something I have been thinking of buying) and that it was light but well built

Shaun Stuart
05-16-2003, 09:01 PM