View Full Version : Pocket PC or Palm... Come on and help me!!

JohnnyFlash
04-11-2003, 06:16 AM
Alright, I've got a Cassiopeia EM-500 and I think it's time to upgrade, since I'm a complete tech-head and love some of the new features.

I never thought I would look at Palms, but I am. I'm also looking at Pocket PCs though. Here's my rundown:

-Multimedia is important:
--> I want decent video playback, good enough to watch a complete movie and not be discouraged from the horrible picture quality or framerate. For practicality, the video has to be less than 256MB so it would be good if the unit can push a 2MB/min video.
--> Good quality audio out of the headphone jack. Speaker isn't so important, but this will most likely be replacing my minidisc player, so audio quality is very important as well. Headphone remote would be a big plus, as well as being able to turn the screen off.

-Form Factor:
--> I really don't want it to be much bigger than my EM-500. I've gotten used to its size, but it's also 3 years old. However, if the unit comes with it's own sort of protection meaning that I won't necessarily need an extra case, the size can be comparable to the EM-500.
--> I don't care how small the unit is, if it's extremely lacking in features. Meaning, more features it has, the more I'm willing for it to be big.
--> If it's just downright ugly in my opinion, it would need to be a great price and full of features to make up for that.

-Wireless:
--> Bluetooth: This would be great if built in, since in Canada there aren't many public places wi-fi is available, not to mention BT is cheaper keep in mind I'm a student.
--> Wi-fi built in is a great addition however, because all I would need to buy is a wireless adapter for my computer. If wi-fi is not built-in, that's not very appealing to me beacuse of the extra $$ needed.
--> If no built in options are available, that's a big disadvantage to me.