View Full Version : PPC essential software

probe
03-31-2003, 02:57 PM
i'm completely new to PPC. i'm receiving my Dell Axim tomorrow and am very excited about it. i know that it will not be coming with a lot of software so i would love to hear from you guys which tools will be great as a
1) ebook reader
2) organiser
3) music player
4) word processor
5) graphics viewer

and, lastly, the must-play games for PPC. no PDA experience will be complete w/o it. :)

thanks.

trachy
03-31-2003, 03:05 PM
1) ebook reader
2) organiser
3) music player
4) word processor
5) graphics viewer

Man, do we ever need a FAQ around here! ;-)

Your PPC will likely come with Microsoft Reader, Media Player, and Pocket Word, so you won't be dead in the water right off the bat. If you're just looking to manage contact information and appointments, it should also come with MS Outlook equivalent capabilities. Again, this is a start.

A good image viewer is PicturePerfect, and one game that everyone seems to rave about is Snails. Head on over to Handango (www.handango.com) and look for the link in the upper right corner for 'First Timers'.

Oh yeah, and one last thing. Browse through PPC Thoughts and use the search function to find out just about anything. If you still can't find what you're looking for, there's about 8000 people waiting to help.

- Drew

Pony99CA
03-31-2003, 03:22 PM
A good image viewer is PicturePerfect, and one game that everyone seems to rave about is Snails.
The Dell comes with Resco Picture Viewer (http://www.resco-net.com/PicView.asp). Probe should check that out to see if it works for him before buying another one.

Steve

trachy
03-31-2003, 03:29 PM
Probe should check that out to see if it works for him before buying another one.

Good suggestion. I'm on a 3835, so I have no idea what comes standard with the Axim.

Sven Johannsen
03-31-2003, 04:04 PM
i know that it will not be coming with a lot of software
1) ebook reader
2) organiser
3) music player
4) word processor