View Full Version : new motherboard for my PC

hdsalinas
03-03-2003, 10:13 PM
I think its time to do a big overhaul on one of my PCs.

I have a PC with a 400mhz AMD / 256 RAM / 40GB HDD / DVD / CDRW / 64MB ATI radeon PCI Video card, 19" monitor / wireless mouse / Hauppagge TV turner card / Keyspan IR remote control / MS ForceFeedback joystick / nice speakers setup, etc.

As you can tell I only need to upgrade my processor since I have a decent setup. I have decide just to upgrade my motherboard and processor. I have never done this kind of PC surgery before but I feel confident that I can do it.

I found this motherboard at $218 with a P4 2.4Ghz. What do you guys think about it?

http://www.accubyte.com/applications/search/itemdetails.asp?sku=MBC-922-24

Is it worth it? I looks like a good deal to me. Can someone give me some pointers on what to look for in a motherboard and why this may be or not be a good purchase.

I use my PC for graphic design work, internet, DVD, games (Flight sim and AOE & AOM) and to sync my Ipaq of course

thanks in advance!

Hector David Salinas
Honduras.

frzamilan
03-04-2003, 05:45 PM
In my humble opinion I think you should do a little more research before you buy that particular board. The reason I say this is that although you are getting a good deal in terms of money, the product you are getting may not be the best. Building your own computer is really easy. I know this may sound strange, but I built one about a month ago with no experience and mine turned out perfect. I bought the ASUS a7n8x deluxe board with and AMD Athlon XP 2100. I ripped all the old parts out of my old gateway and used them for the rest of my setup. As long as you follow a good onilne guide, like one of following, you should have no problems

http://www.maximumpc.com/reprints/reprint_2002-03-13.htm
http://www.tomshardware.com/