View Full Version : Thinking about Axim, need some questions answered

dannyl
02-27-2003, 08:09 PM
Hi,
I'm thinking about getting an Axim, but I'm totally new to the PocketPC arena, so I was hoping to clarify some things before taking the plunge. I have had a Palm Vx, so bear with me...

I plan to get the Axim 400Mhz model with $69 Truemobile wireless card from Dell. I have an existing 802.11b network both at home and at work.

Here is a list of primary capabilities which I plan to use the Axim for, any comments/suggestions would be very helpful and appreciated:

1. Work with Microsoft office. I use Outlook, so I'm assuming that the integration/syncronization should be fairly good between desktop and PDA counterparts? I also need to do light editing of word and excel documents, which I believe are well covered by pocket word and excel.

2. Take light notes. Ie in company meetings as well as class. How's the hand writing recognition (accuracy and speed)?

3. Windows networks. How seemless is the wireless networking? Can I access other computers' shares easily? Can I copy files in and out of the Axim, as well as move files from one computer to another? Hows the wireless network bandwidth/throughput?

4. Somewhat related to #3. Multimedia; watch movies (mpgs, divx, avi), view pictures, and listen to mp3s. I know these are the advertised strengths of the PocketPC, but I plan to do all this by accessing a network share. Is that doable? Any comments on the FPS, picture quality, sound, video formats, etc?

5. Access web content (major requirement). I'm sure I can surf the web with Pocket IE. But again how good is it in practice? Do webpages display as expected? Is the screen to small to make this worthwhile?
Additionally, is there support for AOL instant messaging (another major requirement)?