View Full Version : Shopping for a PPC...

funngunn2
02-20-2003, 10:51 PM
Hey everyone, newbie here! I've been with the Palm OS for about two years, and I love it, although I've been playing around with PPC2k2, on a friend's handheld. Now I'm somewhat hooked. I'd like to get a PPC, but I want to hear why you guys went with PPC. I don't want to start a PPC vs. Palm thread(we have plenty at the Palm forums I'm at), and I'm not being a troll, I just want to see what you guys think about it.

Second, I am thinking of getting a PPC, but I have no idea where to start. I'll give you the criteria I want, and I'll see if you can help me.

1) Long Battery Life
2) A decently slim/reasonable form factor.
3) Fast processor
4) Plenty of onboard memory
5) Under $250/200

That's pretty much what I want, hardware-wise, but before I take the plunge, I want to hear good things from you guys. All I hear is negative things about PPC, and now I want to hear good things about it.

yunez
02-20-2003, 11:15 PM
$250 and below limits you to the dell axim (which despite its low price is one of the best PDAs). If you stretch it a bit, $275-300 can get you the Viewsonic V35, iPAQ 1910, or the Toshiba e330.

axim:
-most powerful of the bunch
-CF expansion slot
-superb battery life
-cheapest
-also the bulkiest

ipaq 1910
-thinnest and smallest
-best screen, also slightly bigger (3.8" vs 3.5")
-weak battery
-slowest processor (but overclockable)

Viewsonic V35
-thin

Toshiba e330
-worst screen of the bunch

Take your pick. I would lean towards the Axim, but if size is a big issue u might get the ipaq or viewsonic.

TawnerX
02-20-2003, 11:45 PM
The short list, in the order of suggestion:

ViewsonicV35. $250-280
pro: it's thin/light, has SD/IO, serial port, not too shabby sound and speed. reflective. Buttons placement is great for game. Overall a balance machine.