View Full Version : NEWBIE Q

maratik
02-10-2003, 02:29 AM
Hello everyone,
Just picked up a IPAQ 5455 and trying to get this thing to work with my wireless router. My current set up is a netgear MR814 wireless router. Have one PC connected to the HUB, 2 other PCs are connected with wireless USB adapters. The router is set up with all the defaults in place such as IP address and all the basic settings. I am very new to the Pocket PC world and have tried with little success to get my ipaq to surf the internet. The ipaq is showing a strong signal but when i open internet exploer it will give following messages...CAN NOT OBTAIN IP ADDRESS FROM SERVER or THE PAGE YOU ARE LOOKING FOR IS NOT FOUND. Have tried numerous options but to no success. Any help will be greatly appriciated. I see my self visiting this forum often now that i haev a pocket pc and there seems to be GREAT information on this forum. Thanks again.

seanturner
02-10-2003, 03:01 AM
Do a soft reset and then enable 802.11b (if it doesn't come on on bootup that is).

Then, open up the iPaq 802.11b utility and click the status then advanced tab to see your IP address (I could have the order of those buttons wrong)

Is it giving your PPC an IP address similar to that of your desktop? (IE are the first 3 groups of numbers the same)?

If it is getting an IP address, download vxUtil and see if you can ping your router.

maratik
02-10-2003, 03:30 AM
Unfortunately, i am not getting an IP address in the advanced settings. I have tried inputting the IP address with gateway and subnet mask address manualy but still little success. The PPC does not automatically get an IP address. One of the messages that i get from the PPC is that its "unable to get IP address from the server." With my limited experience with PPC, i have run into a dead end with the wireless.

seanturner
02-10-2003, 03:52 AM
Do you have MAC address based filtering installed on your router?

maratik
02-10-2003, 04:02 AM