View Full Version : CF NIC wired connectivity

PPCWanderer
01-28-2003, 04:35 PM
Has anyone had success getting the 548 to use a wired network card to access a network or to remotely sync?

In reading recent articles and when using an Ipaq with 2002 this seemed fairly easy, but I'm fighting with this bullheaded PPC2000 Jornada 548 and it doesn't want to get an IP address from the DHCP server even though it is doing plenty of TX and RX'ing with something.

The nic is a Hawking 10/100 CF+ and I have done the driver install, soft reset and inserted card, set up my networking choices for the card and removed and re-inserted the card with no luck. There just are that many options to be set. Is there something else I am missing.

Typically I am a fairly competent admin/engineer but this is making me feel pretty dumb. Any help would be much appreciated since I can't upgrade to a new PPC just yet.

Steven Cedrone
01-28-2003, 05:25 PM
I use a Pretec CF LAN card to sync to my desktop (Mostly used to do backups as it is much faster than serial/usb)...

What settings are you using? I see you are using DHCP (If it still doesn't work, just assign a static IP address to your card). Make sure the IP address of the desktop PC is set as the WINS server on your Jornada...

Any more questions, just ask!

Steve

PPCWanderer
01-28-2003, 05:27 PM
Thanks Steve, let's see what happens

PPCWanderer
01-28-2003, 06:54 PM
I tried doing what you suggested Steve, and it is still not working. I cannot sync to my machine, and have no internet access. I have the proxy details set up but am still getting nowhere. I've also added my domain ID into the settings in case the proxy is looking for an ID before allowing access to the internet.