View Full Version : WTB: iPaq 3635/3630 But have some questions, pls help!

PPCdev
01-24-2003, 04:28 AM
Okay, Ive had my Palm for almost 2 months now... Actually, started with a IIIxe and then moved up to an M130. At any rate, Ive gotten addicted to having my little device with me, but the longer I have it, the more disappointed I am with it.

Please, dont get me wrong, Im not hammering Palm or the M130, this is strictly a personal point of view, milage will vary, to each there own, etc.. etc.. Ive been pleased with the M130, and the 4.1 OS is a big improvment over the 3.5.3, however....

I am a software developer, and just discovered (Duh!) the Embedded tools are free from MS. Humm... Now, Im not spending a minimum of $150 to get started deving on a Palm!

Not only that, but Im an experienced Win32 developer already, and Im now wanting to write apps that work with a desktop, a DB or anything else...

I really dont care if it plays MP3's and AVI's of 'Full Metal Jacket', but I do want to use it as a digital photo wallet, JPEG format mainly.

Okay, a few questions that I need help with, cause as you know the fine folks behind the counter at Staple$ and BustBuy dont know diddly about these things.. :-)

1) Palm uses VFS, Virtual File System. Its like a major disappointment. Complex to manage, files scattered here to there, some apps wont run off an SD card, some data cant be used off an SD card, etc.. etc.. etc..
(Q) Does the PPC2002 OS have such silly temperment, or is it similar to typical Windows file system?

2) Number 1 brings us to number 2: (Q) If I plug an expansion card into my PPC, does it thus expand the "total" memory, or just make another "memory bank"? And witchever be the answer, is there any problems installing applications on the card and storing data to be I/O later?