View Full Version : 802.11b, Bluetooth and Security?

laser
12-30-2002, 07:29 PM
Where I work we cannot use a wireless network. I would love to install a wireless router and use my iPAQ. Due to this I am wondering a couple of things.

1) If I had a 802.11b card in my Laptop and one in my iPAQ would it be as open as a regular wireless router? Can it be secure?

2) Is bluetooth a better option? Is it more secure?

From what I have read bluetooth's distance limitation seems to make it a good candidate. I would like to sync wirelessly, check e-mail and look up things on the web, while away from my desk. It would also be great to print to any printer I wanted on the network.

I was hoping that an 802.11b card in the laptop could be set up to only talk to the pda's ip address and not allow any other connection.

I am sorry for the run-on post but I really need to decide if either wireless option will work. I am very new to the wireless arena but familiar with standard networking.

It would seem at this point that bluetooth might be the answer, but the speed of 802.11b would sure be nice. In the end security is a must.

Thanks

Laser :D

fyiguy
12-30-2002, 07:48 PM
Laser,

I would be wary of installing a WiFi network at work, you may be opening up your companies network to a ton of security holes in the process. I would first contact your IT/IRM department and get an official OK, and if possible use other methods to secure you connection than the provided WEP, such as VPN and digital certificates. Also in ad hoc mode (card to card) you will be transmitting at a lower rate than the full (11MB/s) more like 2MB/s which is usually more than enough for internet connection,networking, and fetching email.