View Full Version : iPaq 5450 turns itself on for no reason?

umichboy
12-16-2002, 08:51 AM
I'm new to the Pocket PC thing... I have an iPaq 5450 and it seems to turn itself on every once in a while. Is there any reason this would happen by default? I don't even have much software installed. Just Battery Pack 2002, Simple Call, and two games.

It makes the activesync connect sound when it turns on, even if it's not in the cradle. I turned off all the scheduling features of activesync. Or did I miss something? I told the iPaq and PC not to schedule syncing, but only to use manual sync.

Steven Cedrone
12-16-2002, 03:48 PM
I'm new to the Pocket PC thing... I have an iPaq 5450 and it seems to turn itself on every once in a while. Is there any reason this would happen by default? I don't even have much software installed. Just Battery Pack 2002, Simple Call, and two games.

It makes the activesync connect sound when it turns on, even if it's not in the cradle. I turned off all the scheduling features of activesync. Or did I miss something? I told the iPaq and PC not to schedule syncing, but only to use manual sync.

All Pocket PC devices turn on at midnight. Is this what you are referring to?

Steve

Janak Parekh
12-16-2002, 04:27 PM
It could be what Steve said, or it could be ActiveSync being stupid. Go to Options on ActiveSync (on the PPC), go to the Schedule tab, and make sure everything is unchecked.

Seems counterintuitive, but otherwise your PPC will wake up a few minutes after undocking it.

--janak

Sven Johannsen
12-16-2002, 04:27 PM
With it out of the cradle (not connected; guess I have to specify that too), on the tools menu in Active Sync on the device, look at the second two tabs. Server and Schedule I believe. Particularly check schedule to see if it is set to sync every so often. Seems this is a default, even the syncing with a server is fairly uncommon.

umichboy
12-16-2002, 09:47 PM