View Full Version : Best memory usage?

Bearjaw
12-12-2002, 02:25 AM
Ok so I'm new to this removable memory thing. I dont know what to store where. I also cant figure out how the Axim uses memory. I'm guessing the built in storage is the left over ROM, but whats up with the RAM. Windows seems to hog half of it to run programs. Is this right? If anyone has suggestion on what to store where let me know. This is whats in my SD card right now. So far I have 4 folders...Music, Movies, pictures and Ebooks. How do you guys use your memory....... Jeff

P.S. and can somebody school me in how to stream music or video to WMP 8.5

Job
12-12-2002, 03:51 AM
I can't offer any help, other than to hopefully draw some attention to your topic, as I too am interested in this question.

spursdude
12-12-2002, 03:56 AM
Well, when you go to the memory settings, you have that bar with a slider in the middle. If I'm correct, that is your RAM. About half, more or less, of it is used for running programs (much like a desktop computer's RAM). The other half can be used to store stuff. This is almost like a hard drive (analagous to one, not that it has any spinning parts or anything).

I usually keep all of my actual documents (i.e. Word files) on RAM, as well as some applications that are near to my heart, like Gigabar and a few others.

I use my storage card for all my games, e-books, music, videos, and some software. When you use your storage card, make sure to put a "My Documents" folder on it, and then you can store your music and ebooks, etc, in that folder for your programs to recognize them.

Have fun the with the Axim.

Bearjaw
12-12-2002, 05:11 AM