View Full Version : A Few Semi-related Questions

shawnc
12-10-2002, 03:10 AM
I have a few questions for the PPC guru's out there. I realize that much of what I ask can probably be located with various searches, but I'm not very good at the search process yet. If it bothers you that I am posting these questions, just don't respond :evil: . I understand.

First some background. I'm a non-technical owner of an Ipaq 3650 and I'm looking to replace that for Xmas. I have a V35 on order (Nov-5) from Amazon but I'm thoroughly convinced that this machine does not exist. It will never be released, not by Viewsonic, Amazon, or anyone else (small sarcasm intended). I don't want to wait until after xmas unless the V35 is truly superior to my other options, given my desired price-point. So that brings me to my questions.

1. Is the Dell THICKER than a naked ipaq 3650?
2. Is the Toshiba e740 a good deal at $329? Is the toshiba thicker than a naked ipaq? Why are they giving these machines away so cheaply (are there problems with the machines)?
3. I read an article today that claimed that wireless 802.11b is FOUR times faster than my wired cable connection. IS THAT TRUE?
4. Does wireless internet access require a seperate ISP or can I somehow use my current one (Adelphia Cable)?
5. Are the HP 1910's available for sale anywhere? Neither CompUSA's or Amazon's website list it anywhere?

Lastly, I would be interested in any opinions comparing the 1910 to the V35. I think I understand the SD(IO) & true RAM/ROM issue. I can PROBABLY do w/o SDIO. What I'm curious about is how the screens compare, the significance of the removable battery (my 3650 BARELY holds a charge these days), and whether the average user will notice a performance difference between and 300 and 200 mhz processor.

I realize this is a lot. I only ask because I've been reading this forum for a few months and really value the opinion of many of the readers. Feel free to answer some or all of the questions.