View Full Version : My Road To The Wireless Dream

MikeUnwired
11-21-2002, 10:15 AM
I've been pursuing the wireless dream for many years. I began with pagers in the early 1980's as a Mortgage Banker. When I became mobilly teathered, only Doctors, drug dealers and salesmen used pagers. The pager was a nice tool for being summoned to call-back someone, but they were far from dreamy.

As the 80's closed, cell phones became somewhat affordable -- $600+ for the equipment was the base. Airtime was easily costing me $300 to $500 a month -- but I could now be reached by voice while in the car. The ROI was there, but just barely, in a business where I did multi-million dollars in sales monthly.

After a round of hard-wired auto based cellular, carry-along bags and smaller units began to enter the picture. They allowed me to be reached by voice in many places -- but definitely not all. You see, the James Earl Jones promise that the "Call must go through". was definitely not reality then -- and still isn't today. So, I had a mobile cellular phone and a pager to deal with on a daily basis in order to be connected.

During the late 80's and early 90's, cell phones got smaller, text messaging tools got more robust and email began to get popular within offices.

As email grew and people became connected between sites and not just cubicles, three communications mediums began to merge on devices -- paging (text messaging), email (again, text mesaaging to some extent) and voice. Voice mail became a staple with outbound text message notification. The Internet began to become a reference tool for some and a communications medium to a few.