View Full Version : Can a Pocket PC Save You the Need to Carry an MP3 Player?

Ed Hansberry
11-04-2002, 01:00 AM
<a href="http://www.techtv.com/freshgear/products/story/0,23008,3401112,00.html">http://www.techtv.com/freshgear/products/story/0,23008,3401112,00.html</a><br /><br />I've been using my Pocket PC for a music player for nearly three years now. Worth its weight in gold for me when on long plane trips. Tech TV's Hahn Choi took a look at the iPAQ 3900, Toshiba e740 and Sony Clie NR70V to see how they stacked up against each other for their music capabilities. Source: Foo Fighter<br /><br />A few comments from the article:<br />• A PDA's low-end will never wow you, but the iPaq did produce a more pronounced bass than the Sony CLIE.<br />• The e740 produced the best balance among the ranges.<br />• The iPaq and e740 had a much higher maximum volume than the CLIE.<br />• Sony requires MP3 files be stored in a specific directory on the Memory Stick. Pocket PC automatically searches out all supported files.<br />• Both Pocket PC devices offer way more storage, with the e740 supporting both Secure Digital (SD) and CompactFlash (CF). SD media is currently available in sizes up to 512MB, while CF media is currently available up to 1GB. The iPaq can add up to 5GB with the optional PC Card expansion pack and a Toshiba PC Card storage drive. The CLIE's Memory Stick currently maxes out at 128MB.

vincentsiaw
11-04-2002, 01:09 AM
i'm ud=sing ipaq 3900 to play WMA file in my car stereo everyday, put it in 512 mb sd card, but i do notice that WMA file produce better output than the MP3 format in my ipaq, i dont know why...

dma1965
11-04-2002, 01:18 AM