View Full Version : Personalizing my Toshiba e740...can anyone help???

Dman
10-15-2002, 05:12 PM
I am a newbie to this forum and a new owner of the Toshiba e740.

I was wondering if anyone could help me with the following (sorry if these questions are so basic):

1) I am downloading freeware for my e740 but am confused with the many versions that are available (eg: MIPS, SH3, 2002, Strongarm, etc). Which one works for the Toshiba e740?

2) Is there a shortcut that I can put in my Start Menu to CLOSE all my programs at once? It's annoying to have to go from Start > Settings > System > Memory > Running Programs > Stop All

3) The sound files for the Toshiba suck. You can barely hear them if you need a morning wake up call! Can I install my own sound files? If so, how and where should I put them?

4) Where is the best site to download freeware for the Toshiba e740? Seems like most of the stuff out there is for the iPaq. Any freeware for password security management?

Thanks to all who can help with any of these questions! :wink:

surur
10-15-2002, 08:38 PM
1) I am downloading freeware for my e740 but am confused with the many versions that are available (eg: MIPS, SH3, 2002, Strongarm, etc). Which one works for the Toshiba e740?

There is currently few x-scale specific software. most strongarm software (arm) should work fine.

2) Is there a shortcut that I can put in my Start Menu to CLOSE all my programs at once? It's annoying to have to go from Start > Settings > System > Memory > Running Programs > Stop All

this sounds lovely... but if you really want to close everything.. why not just soft-reset? there's some freeware that let you do this from software. You can also place a link to the memory control panel icon on your start screen to reduce the click count.

4) Where is the best site to download freeware for the Toshiba e740? Seems like most of the stuff out there is for the iPaq. Any freeware for password security management?