View Full Version : Mobile Netcasting

moblicity
10-04-2002, 12:41 AM
To All Technical Gods,

Is it possible to use a mobile Pocket PC with a Jornada camera to netcast? I’m giving talks at various locations, and would like to netcast these. In addition, I’d like to internet video conference, maybe through one of the existing conferencing services. Can these two things be done? What do I need?

Regards,
ben

PS If you can't tell, I'm new to mobile Pocket PC's

Jorgen
10-04-2002, 06:44 AM
I am not sure what you mean by netcast but assume you need video. The Jornada camera is not a CAM or video, just a very nice, but low-resolution (640*480), camera.

There are newer CF card camera's out there with CAM and higher resolution.

Jorgen

Martin I Pettinger
10-04-2002, 10:47 PM
Hi

Now I think it is possible to use an iPAQ with a HP camera via CF and Microsoft Portrait to do video conferencing. I think this is what you mean by a Jornada Camera. I'll post again when I find some links to previous posts on Microsoft Portrait which offers some of the technology I think you are talking about.

Martin

Martin I Pettinger
10-04-2002, 10:53 PM
Here is a link to Microsoft Portrait

http://research.microsoft.com/~jiangli/portrait/

Cheers, Martin

moblicity
10-05-2002, 12:30 AM
Thanks for all your responses. I am aware of Microsoft Portrait, and have been in contact with members of the MS Research Group (they referred me to this site for further questions!). They tell me Microsoft Portrait is a point-to-point technology, and that they do not as yet support video conferencing (however, they may in the future). I was wondering if there is anything else similar to it, but "point-to-many-points(?)" technology i.e. internet audio/video broadcasting. Well, I know there are internet radio stations, and I suspect some version of internet T.V., but can one broadcast from a mobile Pocket PC yet? Also can it be two way i.e. internet conferencing?