View Full Version : New to this. Just bought an e310.

JackTheTripper
09-20-2002, 07:13 PM
Hi all, I'm new to this Pocket PC thing. used to have a Palm IIIex till I sat on it.

Just wanted to ask what are the best things I can do for myself with this thing. Programs? Accessories? What size SD card to get etc... I just got the basic model. Oh, great deal BTW. $239 after $50 rebate.

Thanx. Hope to learn a lot here. :)

*Edit* Hey! Just noticed my title. What contest?:D

Jeff Rutledge
09-20-2002, 07:34 PM
Firstly, welcome to the PPC community.

As far as what's out there for your e310, the answer is "just about anything". I've been a PPC user since the first version of Microsoft's PPC OS and am currently a happy iPAQ 3870 user. I am continually amazed at what these little things can do.

As far as specific advice for you, I'm afraid I have to answer your question with a question: What do you want to do with it?

Are you interested in wireless connectivity? There's a Bluetooth SD card you could get. Couple that with a BT Access point at home and you could surf wirelessly at home. Or get a BT phone and surf anywhere wirelessly via GPRS.

Maybe multimedia's your thing? If so, I'd definitely get more memory. The e310 has only 32MB memory and you'll find that you can use that up pretty quick (even without media files actually). You can get SD memory cards up to 512MB now.

Then there's software. There are hundreds (maybe thousands?) of titles available.