View Full Version : Complete Newbie...What PocketPC is the best value?

bathman123
08-01-2002, 01:16 AM
Hi,

I am just getting interested in the PocketPC and I am wondering what ones are the best value for the money. Being a recent college grad I dont have much to spare. :lol: Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks alot!!

Brad Adrian
08-01-2002, 01:44 AM
That's always a kind of tough question to answer, because people's needs and preferences vary so much. Can you let us know a little about how you plan to use the Pocket PC, and what kind of functionality you need?

Listen to music?
Carry and use large documents or e-books?
Connect to the Internet wirelessly?
Importance of size/weight?
Desire for certain peripherals, like external keyboards?

Not to pass the buck, but this will help us frame response. I look forward to hearing back from you.

jconaway99
08-01-2002, 11:09 AM
I really enjoy my Audiovox Maestro that I got for under $300. It has PocketPC2002, two expansion slots, standard software and what I consider a nice color screen. Thought I would give you my opinion. :)

bathman123
08-01-2002, 03:22 PM
Thanks guys!

My main reason for looking into a pocketPC is I am thinking of selling my laptop to get a better desktop. I still want to have some mobile capabilities such as email and smaller text documents as well as some mobile entertainment such as music and games. That is what I am looking for in a PocketPC.

Thanks for any more info!!

Gallivant
08-01-2002, 11:26 PM
Provided that you don't need a hyperportable full-size keyboard like the Targus Stowaway, the Toshiba e310 is perfect for you. The Maestro's nice, but its battery life sucks. The 310 doesn't have a CompactFlash slot, but it's otherwise equivilant, and lasts a good long while.