View Full Version : Backing Up Your Digital Photos in a Fireproof Safe - Without Opening It

Jason Dunn
10-20-2005, 10:33 PM
<div class='os_post_top_link'><a href='http://www.networkgarage.com/2005/10/fireproof_safe_backup_1.html#more' target='_blank'>http://www.networkgarage.com/2005/10/fireproof_safe_backup_1.html#more</a><br /><br /></div><i>"As an amateur photographer, I take a lot of pictures. Recently, I completely converted to digital photography because now digital cameras and photo printers produce high quality results. Before digital, I archived my photos as negatives or slides. Today, all of my precious photos are stored digitally on my hard disk. Like most people, I don't have the time to insert writable CD's or DVD's to backup these photos on a regular basis. I tried an online cloud backup service Connected DataProtector but over time I had to bump up my plan to $279.95 per year. I needed a better solution that met my requirements...The solution was to purchase a fireproof safe with an internal power strip and host a network attached storage (NAS) device in the safe. Using HomePlug Powerline (Ethernet over powerline), I connected the NAS device in my fireproof safe to my home network. I then created nightly backup jobs to copy modified files from the PC's in my home network to the NAS device in my fireproof safe. The big ticket item is the fireproof safe which I had already planned to buy."</i><br /><br />Now that's some interesting lateral thinking - it never occurred me to use powerline networking in a scenario like this, I always thought I'd only need it if all the Ethernet cable in my walls suddenly combusted. :lol:

brianchris
10-20-2005, 10:52 PM
I agree its VERY creative thinking (I can't say I would have ever come up with that idea of Powerline Networking), but there are some potential problems with this idea: