View Full Version : And the Worst Designed Software Award Goes To...Napster!

Jason Dunn
12-03-2004, 09:51 AM
How's this for a frustrating bug? I have a Napster subscription, and have been listening to Liz Phair's latest album lately. I downloaded it over a month ago and have listened to it several times. When I tried to listen to it tonight (keeping in mind it's on my hard drive and I've already signed into Napster), I get this error message:

http://www.digitalmediathoughts.com/images/crashnapstercrash.gif

In addition to that being a confusing message that makes no sense (I have the files, I'm authenticated...why won't they play?) the way that the Napster client and Windows Media Player deals with it is rather ridiculous. When I clicked ok, the player locks up for several seconds, and hitting stop doesn't stop it from trying to play the next song - which results in the same error. I tried five times to click OK then click on the "X" in WMP to stop the madness. That didn't work, so after a few more tries I had to give it the three-finger salute and kill the app. I deleted the files off my hard drive, started up the player again, then deleted the entries from the library (why this isn't automatic is beyond me). I then went into the Napster interface, downloaded the same album again...and now it works perfectly. 8O Let me say it again: DRM is too hard, too flakey, and too limited to catch on in a big way until it becomes much easier. :?

Kevin & Beth Remhof
12-03-2004, 02:04 PM
I had this same error message at work for months. I believe it was a firewall issue for me. Just last week, I was upgraded to XP and the problem went away.

Now... I get a different problem at home. Something about security and my DRM licenses. I can't restore or back up licenses.

DRM is a pain. I'm happy to be legal with my music downloads but come on. If this is how DRM is supposed to work, it's time to try something new.

Neil Enns
12-03-2004, 04:41 PM