View Full Version : Do You Like Your Images RAW?

Jason Dunn
03-12-2004, 06:00 PM
I wanted to start a discussion on RAW images. For those that don't know, RAW images are digital photos that are stored in an uncompressed format rather than the traditional JPEG. The file sizes of RAW images are very large - typically 10x bigger than a JPEG image (this varies of course based on resolution and what setting you'd normally be using for JPEG). Because RAW images aren't compressed, there aren't any compression artifacts (digital junk) and thus you can edit the image save it as a final JPEG without fear of double-compression.

I'm a complete and utter newbie when it comes to shooting in RAW mode with my Canon EOS 300D, but it's something I'd like to learn more about. For those of you that shoot in RAW, why do you do so? What advantages are there that I didn't mention? What sort of post-processing solution do you use?

arebelspy
03-12-2004, 06:26 PM
I always use the best compression settings right below RAW so images are like 3MB instead of 10. Can fit a lot more that way. :D

-arebelspy

Lee Yuan Sheng
03-12-2004, 06:33 PM
Post-processing is easier and more flexible, especially for colour correction and exposure compensation. Also good for control freaks, hehe.

Jason Dunn
03-12-2004, 06:36 PM
Post-processing is easier and more flexible, especially for colour correction and exposure compensation. Also good for control freaks, hehe.

Ok, that's the thing I want to know more about - why is color correction and exposure compensation easier with a RAW image?

michael
03-12-2004, 06:40 PM