View Full Version : New Digital Camera

OSUKid7
03-08-2004, 08:21 PM
Hey everyone. :)
I'm looking at gettign a new digital camera. Right now I have a Olympus Camedia Master - 1.3 megapixels...got it in May of 2000 I think. It's alright, but I'm ready for more. I'm interested in spending $300-$450. I'd like 4-5 megapixels so I can last another 2-4 years with this camera. The main thing I'd like is for the shutter rate to be considerably faster. I've had so many cases of taking a quick shot and not getting the picture. I'd also like to move beyond the standard 3x optical zoom.

I've looked at a few cameras, and done some reviews on CNET and other sites. I'm fairly impressed with the Nikon Coolpix 5700, and found that in my price range. My only concern with that camera is how large it is.

So what are some thoughts on that and other cameras in my price range? I'd like to hear soon because there's a $150 rebate on the 5700 through March. Thanks for your help. :)

Andy Manea
03-08-2004, 09:45 PM
For any electronics I first look at amazon.com, because you have detailed product specs and reviews together. Then I look for the cheapest price online. (The way I say it that really sounds like I'm an ass, using amazon like this! :oops: )

A friend of mine purchased the Pentax Optio 550 or 555 (not sure) 5MP,5x optical zoom (http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/B00008NE00/qid=1078777060/sr=1-5/ref=sr_1_5/002-8735313-1084062?v=glance&s=photo) two months ago. She loves the camera and I do, too. I've seen prints of her digital pictures (I mean she got them "developed" in a photo store) and there is nooooo way in the world you could tell they were taken with a digicam!! I don't make prints of my pictures very often, but it's nice to know that when you do, they come out great.
If my trustly Fuji were to die tomorrow, I probably would get that one to replace it.

Good luck! :P