View Full Version : Compare Other OS's With Windows Mobile 6

Pete Paxton
08-06-2007, 10:00 PM
Smartphone Thoughts mostly posts about Windows Mobile devices. I have to admit that Windows Mobile is my favorite OS for handheld devices. I've used Symbian, Palm, and Blackberry and while each has it's own unique flavor, I still like Windows Mobile the best. How would you compare the Windows Mobile OS to other mobile operating systems? Which is your favorite and why? Are there functions in other OS's you'd like to see in the Windows OS? On the other hand, what are functions in the Windows OS that other OS's don't have?

randalllewis
08-07-2007, 12:41 AM
I have no experience with Palm, other than on one of the original Pilots I played with a long time ago. As for the rest, Symbian hasn't shown me anything. It works, so I guess it is a OK OS, but there is nothing special about it from this end user's point of view. Maybe those of you who program or are more into the technical aspects can offer more insight, but my general reaction about Symbian is "eh."

I've ranted here before about Blackberry. It is a phone, and it should handle calls easily. Yet that was a major headache with the Blackberry I used. And I wasn't even crazy about the e-mail system. I got my e-mail just fine but composing a reply was a pain in the behind given the Blackberry's choices for alternative characters and functions just never seemed intuitive. So, I give Blackberry a "yuck."

WM5, which I now use and WM 2003, which I previously used is a good OS. The UI is of course very familiar to most computer users. There were some issues with the older WM version, but 5 is stable and works very well. It is attractive, but not eye-catching. There is little "wow" factor. I don't really need a "wow" factor, but we can see with the iPhone that a lot of people do. I rate WM5 a "pretty good."

scottb
08-07-2007, 04:58 AM