View Full Version : Cell Phones on planes

spokrie
02-17-2005, 05:48 AM
More hype around the Airbus A380, (awsome plane) buy cool none the less. Now if I could just figure out how to open those darn peanuts.

http://portal.wowway.com/news/read.php?id=12973204&ps=1015

Jerry Raia
02-17-2005, 09:05 AM
I fly for a living. I wish the heck I could use my phone in flight!

Mike Temporale
02-17-2005, 11:48 AM
http://portal.wowway.com/news/read.php?id=12973204&ps=1015

Your link just redirects me to the Wowway home page. I'm guessing you have to be a customer to read their portal. :( What was the article about?

spokrie
02-17-2005, 03:37 PM
Hmmmmm.... I just logged in from a different domain, and I can see it, but, here's the article.

European aeronautics giant Airbus SAS signed a deal Tuesday that will give customers of its new superjumbo A380 planes the option of installing voice and data systems that will let passengers make calls using their own cell phones.

The systems, which could also be fitted on other models from Airbus and Boeing Co., will also give passengers Internet access using their own laptops.

Airbus's deal is with Geneva-based OnAir, a newly formed joint venture between Airbus and Netherlands-based I.T. company SITA Information Networking Computing.

Many hurdles remain before passengers will be able to talk in-flight.

OnAir believes it is close to getting European approval from telecom regulators, though Airbus will need more time to get aircraft certification.

And U.S. approval is not likely for some time: The Federal Communications Commission is concerned that cell phone use in an airplane might interfere with cell phone use on the ground, while the Federal Aviation Administration worries that airborne cell phone calls could interfere with a plane's navigation and electrical systems.