View Full Version : How to sync Cingular Mpx220 with exchange 2003?

chiptransisto
11-04-2004, 12:02 AM
I'm new to Smartphone Thoughts and to Cingular and to Mpx220. I bought my phone at BestBuy. I can sync with my desktop but have not figured out how to sync with my exchange server (I use sbs2003). I can contact my exchange server with the smartphone over the internet by the address http://myserver/oma. I don't have to change any settings to do that, it works "out of the box." However, I want to auto sync with the server rather than trying to check mail and the calendar through the http://myserver/oma link. Can someone help me?
I've found some information on Cingular settings and have tried to create new Dial-up connections, new proxy connections and new GPRS conections. That doesn't seem to be necessary since I can connect to the internet "out of the box." However, when I try to create the new connections, the instructions have entries that I don't have on my phone or my phone has entries that are not listed in the settings.
If someone has conncedted their Mpx220 to their exchange server using Cingular, I would really appreciate instructions on how it was done. Did you have to add new data connections? IF so, which ones and what entries? Thanks.

mboone
11-04-2004, 04:12 AM
Hi,

I sync my MPx220 with SBS2003 through Cingular. I think you want to drop the "oma" on your server address. Just make it "myserver" and that's it. Then try to sync. You may also need to disable certificate checking to get things to work - but I'd try it first and see what error code you get. Where it says "Errors" in ActiveSync on the phone, select that and see what it says. If you need the certificate check turned off, try http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyId=D88753B8-8B3A-4F1D-8E94-530A67614DF1&displaylang=en. Once you get it set up, synchronizing with an Exchange server is the greatest thing since sliced bread.

Mike B.

Jerry Raia
11-04-2004, 04:45 AM