View Full Version : Deploy a program from .NET 2003 to Smartphone 2003

quangnn81
05-19-2004, 04:58 AM
Hi,

I am a newbie to Smartphone. I am using Visual Studio .NET 2003 to develop on Smartphone 2003. I can deploy my program to the emulator but not the phone. If I using Windows Explorer to copy .exe file from my PC to my phone, it works, but can I deploy my program as the way it should be done?

I also have another problem. When I connected to a server using GPRS on the phone using TPC/IP protocol, there's an error: "Could not find resource assembly". Can anyone explain the error for me :( I have checked the Internet connection and it's working properly.

Sorry for asking too much, I still have a problem: If I am phone user, I just want to run a setup.exe on the PC and suppose that my phone is connected to the PC, the setup.exe will install everything on my phone.
I tried to add a setup to my Smartphone Application but it did not work.

Thank you in advance for your help

Kris Kumar
05-20-2004, 01:55 AM
Welcome to the world of SP development.

I am a newbie to Smartphone. I am using Visual Studio .NET 2003 to develop on Smartphone 2003. I can deploy my program to the emulator but not the phone. If I using Windows Explorer to copy .exe file from my PC to my phone, it works, but can I deploy my program as the way it should be done?

When you try to deploy the program to the phone using Visual Studio, do you get any error message. What does it say? Or does Visual Studio freeze or give no error message? Look for the error message in the Output Window inside VS.NET.

And trust me, getting VS.NET to deploy apps to the phone while debugging at times is not easy. At times, restarting the machine helps. The other thing I believe I read in a newsgroup is that ActiveSync must be installed first and then VS.NET.