View Full Version : Need Answers Please!

hashemc
09-26-2003, 01:37 AM
Hello Everyone,

I am new to the world of smartphones but very excited about the news of the Motorola MPX200. Would someone please help to answer a few questions I have?

1. Can the Phone and PDA functions operate independent of each other, for example would I be able to listen to MP3's on an airline flight?

2. Are smartphone ROM's flashable? Since the MPX200 runs smartphone 2002 would I be able to upgrade to smartphone 2003?

3. What size is the headphone jack on the smartphones? Would I need to buy an adapter in order to listen to music or video through decent headphones?

I'm sure I'll have more questions but if anyone can help with this I would greatly appreciate it.

Jason Dunn
09-26-2003, 04:44 AM
1) Yes, you can turn off the radio portion of the phone and use it like a PDA. You may have trouble convincing the flight attendant of that though, so I'd keep it hidden in your pocket. ;-)

2) Yes, it's 100% flashable. In fact, the ENTIRE device image is stored in Flash ROM, so even if your phone battery goes dead, it will be back as good as new after a charge. The downside is that Flash ROM is a little slower than normal RAM.

3) The smaller 2.5mm one, so yes, you'll need a small adaptor

Welcome to the site! :D

hashemc
09-26-2003, 02:35 PM
Thanks Jason, I appreciate your quick response. Keep up the great work!

hashemc
10-01-2003, 03:07 PM
Hi Jason,

I am currently using an iPAQ 3955 with sleeve and Bluetooth card to connect to my T68i and I'm considering the Motorola MPX 200 when it's released.

Question: How difficult was it for you to adjust from a Pocket PC sized screen to the Smartphone screen?