View Full Version : What is a "smartphone"?

baggins
07-12-2003, 03:33 AM
Hey folks,

I visit pocketpcthoughts all the time, and I just dropped by here for the contests :wink: , hehe, but seriously... what exactly is a smartphone? I have no clue - I am a newbie, so sue me. But um, who are the makers, what networks support them, and what are their capabilities?

Thanks from a newbie!

Skitals
07-12-2003, 04:07 AM
microsoft operating system for phones. I think all smartphones are currently GSM phones. You know how pocketpc is kinda a stripped down version of windows? Well smartphone is like a stripped down version of pocket pc. It does most of the same stuff.

ppcsurfr
07-12-2003, 08:35 AM
What is a Smartphone.... well technically a smartphone is a mobile phone with an OS which can be enanced by the use of additional software.

There are Symbian powered smartphones like the ones that run on UIQ and Series 60... there are those that run on Microsoft's Windows OS called Smartphone 2002... which will be Windows Mobile for Smartphone soon...

Mabuhay! ~ Carlo

Skitals
07-12-2003, 08:41 AM
What is a Smartphone.... well technically a smartphone is a mobile phone with an OS which can be enanced by the use of additional software.

There are Symbian powered smartphones like the ones that run on UIQ and Series 60... there are those that run on Microsoft's Windows OS called Smartphone 2002... which will be Windows Mobile for Smartphone soon...

Mabuhay! ~ Carlo

I think MS officially owns the term "Smartphone" now. While yes their are other "smartphones"... this site is dedicated to those running the microsoft operating system. In Jason's own words:

"It brings me great pleasure to launch this new site dedicated to the Microsoft Windows Mobile Smartphone platform."

Peace

Skitals
07-12-2003, 08:44 AM
ppcsurfr, actually, maybe I should mess with you. You are the number 1 poster and have over 12% of all the forums posts. lol :P

baggins
07-12-2003, 02:55 PM